Author Topic: Front mount with modified 2GB Talon bumper, in progress.  (Read 4052 times)

Offline Jesse Veitch

Front mount with modified 2GB Talon bumper, in progress.
« on: October 05, 2009, 11:29:54 pm »
Got my SSAC intercooler mounted, started modifying the bumper as well to give it some more air. It's just kind of half sitting on there now, still need to cut a little more out on the bottom portion of the opening to get it to sit all the way back. Then I'm on to reattaching the top portion of the opening up higher and filling in the rest with fiberglass, which I've never worked with before.

Should be fun! I still haven't quite decided whether or not I should try painting it myself, but I thought I'd get to all of this a lot sooner, with the weather starting to turn I don't really have anywhere I can do it that's heated without too much humidity, so I'm starting to lean towards just having a simple job done for now, since I plan to eventually have the whole car done. I still haven't quite gotten all of the all flaking away paint off of my spare bumper (the one I've started modifying) with paint stripper. Some stubborn stuff still on there.

I'm going to get the bumper all fitted up properly so it's not warping when I start fiber glassing, then I plan to use some spray foam insulation to make some "mounts" to temporarily glue the upper part of the opening up higher while I fiberglass it in place. Then I need to fill the crack that will be between the bumper and the part I reattach. I imagine there is some type of filler meant for big gaps? That I can sand nice and smooth.. Then just recreate the sides of the inner part of the opening and sand it all smooth.